Like driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, distracted driving kills. The police and courts are committed to enforcing Connecticut’s laws regarding use of cell phones, tablets and all other forms of distracted driving.
The State Of Connecticut Department Of Motor Vehicles says the following:
“Hand-held cell phones or mobile electronic devices may not be used while operating a motor vehicle, including while you are stopped in traffic or at a stop light.
- Drivers 18 years of age and older need hands-free accessories to legally use cell phones or mobile electronic devices while operating a motor vehicle.
- Drivers who are 16 or 17 years of age are restricted from using any type of cell phone or mobile electronic device while driving, even with hands-free accessories.”
(h) Any person who violates this section shall be fined one hundred fifty dollars for a first violation, three hundred dollars for a second violation and five hundred dollars for a third or subsequent violation.
Depending on factors, such as your driving history, your driver’s license may be suspended, and you will be ordered to attend a driver retraining class, costing even more time and money. These are the consequences if you are not in an accident. If you are in an accident, additional charges may be brought, including felonies if someone is hurt or killed. Even if no one is injured, an accident will damage your car and cause your insurance premiums to increase. Your insurer may even cancel your insurance.
Pull over and park to text.
Give us a call at 203-304-9050 or contact us to schedule your free initial phone consultation.